Happiness, is it ephemeral?

In the end, happiness happens in the mind. Or does it? (Image: Sandi's.)
In the end, happiness happens in the mind. Or does it? (Image: Sandi’s.)
  1. Adjective: ephemeral – lasting for a very short time. Many beautiful quotes, songs, movies, books, art, and the like, define happiness. In the end, happiness happens in the mind. Or does it?

Look carefully at the image of the blood red beauty above, hanging off of a hollyhock. The center is quite breathtaking. It looks like a star or perhaps a sun? What about the dark reds around the center, that then turn light again? Does this flower know it is happy? Or is it just existing in its pure form? Yes, I retouched it so that the deep colors would be more defined. I focused on the center and sharpened it. But to be quite honest, I really didn’t have to work hard to do that. The flower did it all on its own.

I personally was profoundly affected by the deep and sensuous colors of this flower. It reminded me of parts of myself that have died, and been reborn. Where then, has happiness existed in that process? Is it something that happens moment by moment, or as a result of incredible happenstance that then fuels our hearts with hope?

I took this picture on my 15-minute walk at work today. During my walk, I touched every leaf I could get my fingers on; I brushed each branch ranging from weeds, to trees, though I couldn’t say what they were; only that I gave myself to those leaves as they lined the paved road I walked on. I opened up to greet them as if they were long lost friends or lovers. Every moment that went by as I held them ephemerally in my hands, felt like a brush with life; one I don’t take too much time to focus on. My focus admittedly, though not happily, has been one of death. Not because I have lost many loved ones in a short time-span. Just the small deaths I have experienced within myself.

This flower did something for me, that other things, people, words, community, have been touching within me – life. Within the closing comes the opening.

Leave a Reply

