The world of editing

In many ways, editing your own work can create a sense of dread. I say this because I’ve finished the first book of a trilogy that I’m writing, and am now in the editing phase. As I edit, I find I have to change things I liked when I first put the words down. Now, I find I have to change a lot… this puts my story in a very malleable and twisted state. It means that I have to shift other parts later in the story to align with the beginning.

While this is somewhat painful, I feel it is a very important and necessary plight to contend with. I am no longer the creative writer. I am the critic who now nit-pics and picks apart every sentence, adjusting and changing words, and reminding myself that it’s all for the best. There are days I don’t want to edit. Times I tell myself I can do it ‘later’. But the truth is, it’s a long process and I don’t like having to change the things I’m seeing, but beg to be transformed.

In the next few posts, I would like to share some excerpts of my book prior to publishing. I will need your input and brutal honesty. I’ve written this story for you – the readers.

… Stay tuned.

Many blessings,

Sandi

Leave a Reply

