A dip in memory

My little man always enjoyed hide and seek! (Image: Sandi Martinez)
My little man always enjoyed hide and seek! (Image: Sandi Martinez)

I really enjoy house and pet-sitting, and I had a wonderful opportunity to do that over the last 4 days. There were 2 cats and 1 dog. The cats always had me on my toes – guessing what they were going to do next… the dog Maddy, was sweet and I truly believe an Angelic being.

What I mean by that, is that not only do dogs go to heaven, they also come from there, and just go back when it’s time. Much like it was time for my long-time animal companion, Samson. The days allowed me to meditate. To rest, and slow down. I sat on the veranda of this beautiful house set in El Dorado, NM, and watched the sun set. Intense oranges, yellows, reds, and purples, mixed as if on a painter’s palette. I saw epic thunder and lightning storms streak across the sky like chariots on fire. I saw sweet birds and hummingbirds feast on the sun, light, and food they gathered. I had time… a rare and strange event. The fact that time had no time limits.

While surfing the TV; satellite with various movies playing at once, I noticed my body relax, and my muscles became mush. This is about the time I worried my brain cells were slowly dying… (I never watch TV). Much to my relief, it was simply my brain taking a reprieve from all the mental gymnastics I make daily; second by second.

Today, my last day, I packed my things, and put them in my car. I played fetch with Maddy, (I’m pretty sure it was me fetching) and I loved on her and told her how much our time together meant to me. As I made my final check, I felt an overwhelming sadness overtake me. Maddy reminded me of my dog Samson who as some of you may remember, passed away this February. She looked deep into my eyes as if she understood my sadness. I tried to be enthusiastic that mom was coming home in just a few hours, but the tears won out, and at last, Maddy walked away and left me to deal with my pain, sadness, and loss.

This is why I believe she is an angelic being; she allowed me to feel my pain without taking it away, and yet her love washed over me in waves. Only an angel can do that.

Many blessings,

Sandi

Leave a Reply

