Fairy Tales

 

 

I get to breathe, see, feel, love, and hurt again… (Image: Sandi Martinez)
I get to breathe, see, feel, love, and hurt again… (Image: Sandi Martinez)

 

If flowers could speak

what would they say?

“Here we are, we live another day,”

If I could speak my heart’s desire,

what would it say?

I get to breathe, see, feel, love, and hurt again…

Happy endings only exist in fairy tales

words ending in… ‘And they lived Happily Ever After’

but what are fairy tales if not

what has occurred before?

whether by another’s imagination

or a terribly ingenious fictional story

Borne from one mind to another, to paper

and from my lips to yours

Happily ever after is what we make it.

So, lose the glass slippers

paper hearts

artificial

laughter

Show me who you are

the one you have forgotten

Because this is where true fairy tales

Are borne

In your truth,

In

Mine

©Sandi Martinez

2 thoughts on “Fairy Tales

Leave a Reply

